Education prizes

The Society is committed to increasing equality and diversity in the physiological sciences. Our work in this area permeates throughout all of our activities, and we would like to ask you to be mindful of this commitment when making your suggestions or nominating for prizes.

We feel that recognition and reward in education and teaching is crucial. In reflection of this, The Society supports three prizes in Higher Education: two to recognise the best students and the other to recognise the best teacher.

The Rob Clarke Awards

The Rob Clarke Awards recognise the research work carried out by Members during their undergraduate degree. Prizes, named in honour of the late Dr Rob Clarke, are awarded independently for the best abstracts and posters presented at a Society conference.

To be considered for the Awards, entrants must submit an abstract of their undergraduate research project to The Society. This can be a summer project or a final year project; the only restriction is that it must have been completed as an undergraduate. Following assessment by a review panel, the entrants with the best abstracts will be selected for the Rob Clarke Abstract Award and invited to present their undergraduate project as a poster at one of The Society's scientific conferences.

Each finalist will receive the following:

  • A certificate of award
  • Support of up to £200 to attend and present their work at a Society conference

At the conference, a panel of judges will visit the posters and speak to the Abstract Award winners about their projects. The entrant(s) with the best poster presentation(s) will then be awarded with the Rob Clarke Presentation Award at the conference.

In 2019, poster judging will take place at Physiology 2019 in Aberdeen during 8–10 July 2019.  


Applications for the 2019 round are now open and will close on 1 May 2019.


Further details


Undergraduate Prize for Physiology

Each year, we award undergraduate prizes that recognise the excellence of final year undergraduate students studying for a degree in physiology or related subject. Nominations can be made by Society Representatives either for excellence specifically in a final year project, or for overall excellence in a degree.

The prize includes £100, one year free trial of affiliate Membership and a certificate of achievement.

Please note the monetary award must be collected within the year it is awarded.

Nominations are made by Society Reps, so please liaise with your local representative if you have any suggestions.

Society Reps can find more information on how to make a nomination at the Society reps pages.


The Otto Hutter Physiology Teaching Prize

The Otto Hutter prize recognises an individual's contribution to teaching undergraduate physiology. A call for nominations is made each year and a winner is selected by the Education and Outreach Committee. The prize, awarded at The Society's annual Main Meeting, includes £500 for the winner and £500 for the host institution (the latter to support education and teaching in physiology).

Nominations (including self-nominations) can be made by Members and non-Members of The Society and should include the following:

  • CV including any teaching-related achievements
  • Summary of proposal (400 words max)
  • Student feedback
  • Letter from Head of Department
  • Evidence of innovation, where appropriate

If you would like to nominate a colleague, please email the name of your nominee to; we will then contact your nominee to invite them to complete the online application form.

The nomination deadline for the 2018 Otto Hutter Prize is Sunday 2 December.

Apply here

If you would like to discuss making a nomination, please email

Previous winners

  • Louise Robson, Senior Lecturer at the University of Sheffield (2017)
  • Prem Kumar, Professor of Physiological Sciences at the Univeristy of Birmingham (2015)
  • Judy Harris, Professor of Physiology at the University of Bristol (2014)
  • David Lewis, Senior Lecturer in Neuroscience and Scientific Ethics at the University of Leeds (2013)
  • Eugene Lloyd, Senior Teaching Fellow and Dental Pre-Clinical Dean at Bristol University (2012)
  • Neil Morris, Senior Lecturer and University Teaching Fellow at the University of Leeds (2011)
  • Mary Cotter, Professor of Systems Physiology at the University of Aberdeen (2010)

More information can be found on each of the winners can be found here

The Physiological Society is committed to the principles of diversity, equality and inclusion, and thereby welcomes nominations of individuals from all backgrounds.