Management and Administration

The Trustees employ a Chief Executive who reports on the performance against the strategic and operational plans approved by the Trustees.

Council of Trustees

The Society’s Trustees are legally responsible for the overall governance, management and policy, ensuring that the charitable objectives for which it has been set up are met. The Trustees are also the Directors of The Physiological Society. The Council of Trustees meets four times a year. Elections to the Council take place each year, and any Member of The Society is eligible to stand. Trustees are elected to serve for a period of four years. The current size of the Council is 18. Meetings of the Council are chaired by the President and administrative support is provided to the Council and its committees by The Society’s staff in the London office.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee oversees the day-to-day operations of The Society and meets frequently throughout the year. Members of the Executive Committee are drawn from, and elected by, the Council who can delegate any of its powers to the Executive Committee as it sees fit. The normal term of office on the Executive Committee is four years. The Executive Committee consists of the President, Deputy President, Treasurer, Meetings Secretary, Chair of the Education & Outreach Committee, Chair of the Policy Committee and Chair of the Publications Committee.  The Chair of the Membership & Grants Committee attends as an observer.


The Council also has committees to which it delegates powers, and these groups report back to the Council via the Executive Committee. Membership of these committees is drawn from the Council but can also include other invited members. The main committees are Education & Outreach, Membership & Grants, Meetings, Publications, Policy and Finance.

Details of the membership of Council and committees are available to Members of the Society; please log on to your profile page to access the Directory. A committee organogram can be found here.

The Nominations Committee

The Nominations Committee, chaired by the President, oversees nominations for the President and Officers of The Society, based on recommendations from Council, who may also canvas the membership.

Annual General Meeting and Annual Report

The 2015 Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held at the Motorpoint Arena, Mary Ann St, Cardiff CF10 2EQ on Tuesday 7 July 2015. The meeting was chaired by Professor Ole Petersen, Director of the Cardiff School of Biosciences, University of Cardiff.

The meeting saw Rachel Tribe succeed Michael Evans as Chair of the Membership & Grants Committee.  

The Society offers thanks to the outgoing members of Council.

Full minutes of the meeting and the AGM presentation are available to view online.

The Society’s Annual Review for the year ending 31 Dec 2014 was made available to Members in June 2015. The full Annual Report & Accounts, which received an unqualified audit opinion, should be consulted for a full understanding of the financial affairs of The Society. The annual accounts were approved by the Trustees in May 2015 and have been submitted to the Charity Commission and Companies House.

Annual Reports from 1990-2014 

The Physiological Society is registered in England as a company limited by guarantee,No. 323575, registered charity No. 211585. The registered office is Hodgkin Huxley House, 30 Farringdon Lane, London EC1R 3AW, UK.

The Physiological Society's governing documents dictate the activities of The Society as a body, and those of its officers, Council, committees, Members and employees on its behalf.