2017 Annual General Meeting

The 2017 Annual General Meeting (AGM) was held at the Wellcome Collection, London on 12 July 2017. The meeting was chaired by Jonathan Ashmore, Professor of Biophysics, at the University College London. The AGM minutes are now accessible online. The AGM presentation will be available to view in due course. 

The following members of Council stood down:

  • Anne King - Honorary Treasurer
  • Prem Kumar – Chair of Publications
  • Ken O’Halloran -  Chair of Meetings Committee
  • Mike Ludwig - Trustee

The Society offers thanks to these outgoing members of Council.

Three members were elected to Council as Trustees:

  • Charlotte Haigh
  • Elizabeth Anne Sheader
  • Stefan Trapp

Three individuals were awarded Honorary membership of The Society. 

  • Peter. B Raven
  • Michael Kane
  • Terje Lomo

The membership passed a motion:

That future General Meetings of The Society held outside the auspices of a UK or Ireland-based Main Meeting (or equivalent) are video broadcast, subject to the Trustees considering such arrangements to be financially viable, with provisions made to allow secure access for voting members of The Society to participate in its business.

Proposed by: David Wyllie (University of Edinburgh)

The next AGM will be held during  the Europhysiology meeting in London (QE2) between 14-16th September 2018.