2016 Rob Clarke Awards - the winners!

We're pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 Rob Clarke Awards, which continues to expand its reach, with nearly 60 abstract submissions from 10 countries this year alone. These Awards give undergraduates and recent graduates an opportunity to present their undergraduate research project as a poster at The Society's annual meeting (in this case, Physiology 2016), and they are given £200 to support their attendance. 19 finalists were shortlisted this year, 10 of which were awarded the full Rob Clarke Presentation Award, as follows:

  • Zoe Adams, University of Bristol (Cerebrovascular Reactivity in Human Hypertension)
  • Michael Attwaters, London South Bank University (The effect of ageing on Centre of Pressure progression characteristics while walking)
  • Ursula Doris, University of Manchester (A sexy approach to pacemaking)
  • William Gao, University College London [Physiological investigation of the ventilatory profile of paediatric patients undergoing microlaryngoscopy and bronchoscopy (MLB)]
  • Matt Grant, University of Bristol (Determining the role of muscle activity in the maturation of zebrafish craniofacial musculature)
  • Timothy Jones, University College London (Investigating a novel inhibitor of TRPC6 for the treatment of familial focal segmental glomerulosclerosis)
  • JinHeng Lin, University of Sheffield (An automated video tracking as a powerful quantitative assay for detecting vestibular defects in the zebrafish, Danio rerio)
  • David O'Driscoll, Trinity College Dublin (An Investigation of Human Plasma Protein Biomarkers in Burning Mouth Syndrome)
  • Emma Rocheteau, University of Cambridge (The effect of heart rate on action potential shape and conduction velocity in normal, hypo-perfused and ΔKPQ-Scn5a murine atria)
  • Craig Willis, University of Exeter (The Effects of Oral N-acetylcysteine Supplementation on Potassium Regulation and High-Intensity Exercise Tolerance in Humans)

2016 Rob Clarke Award winners and judges

To gain the full Award, entrants had to impress the judges with both the quality of their poster and the way in which they presented it, demonstrating a deep understanding of the science and its impact. All finalists were invited on the strength of their abstracts and with such great competition this year, we'd also like to pay credit to the other finalists:

  • Robert Aldous, University of Manchester
  • Luke Boothman, University of Leeds
  • Zhia Ning Lim, University of Leicester
  • Luke Morton-Holtham, Kingston University
  • Kyung Chan Park, King's College London
  • Conor Raleigh, Trinity College Dublin
  • Robin Simpson, University College London
  • Ian Sunyecz, The Ohio State University & The Research Institute at Nationwide Children’s Hospital
  • Dharmesh Valand, University College London

Congratulations to all the winners and a huge thank you to all the judges involved: Muhammad Aslam (Justus Liebig University Giessen), Aisah Aubdool (King’s College London), Robert Banks (University of Durham), David Bates (University of Nottingham), Jane Cleal (University of Southampton), Blair Grubb (University of Liverpool), Rohan Lewis (University of Southampton), Alister McNeish (University of Reading), Susan Pyner (University of Durham), Stewart Sage (University of Cambridge), Keith Siew (University of Cambridge), Mike Tipton (University of Portsmouth), Christopher Torrens (University of Southampton) and Mike Wyss (University of Alabama) - without whom we couldn't run these Awards.

Well done all!