2017 Rob Clarke Awards - the winners!

We’re pleased to announce the winners of the 2017 Rob Clarke Awards, which recognise excellence in undergraduate physiology research. Awards are made independently for the best abstracts and best posters presented at one of The Society’s conferences. 

In 2017, 20 Abstract Awards were given to the following individuals:

  • Dario Barreiros Zamora, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Natalia Bezuch, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Zhen Cahilog, Imperial College London
  • Santiago Echeverry, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana
  • Frederick Ewbank, University of Southampton
  • Raul Fulea, Newcastle University
  • Bobby Harrop, Brunel University
  • Ifan Jenkin, University of Oxford
  • Ameer Hamid Ahmed Khan, Imperial College London
  • John Logan, University of Oxford
  • Gary McDermott, Ulster University
  • Hanzla Naeem, Queen Mary, University of London
  • Shu Chyi Ong, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • Andrei Leonardo Perez Olivera, London South Bank University
  • Skanda Rajasundaram, University of Oxford
  • Harry Taylor, University of Bath
  • Klaudia Toczyska, King's College London
  • Olga Vaskevich, Heriot Watt University
  • Jack Whiting, University of Bristol
  • Liana Yamanouchi, King's College London

Rob Clarke Award winners 2017

These individuals were then invited to present a poster at The Society’s ‘Future Physiology’ conference for judging on 14 December 2017, and a Rob Clarke Presentation Award was given to the following:

  • Dario Barreiros Zamora
  • Natalia Bezuch
  • Santiago Echeverry
  • Ameer Hamid Ahmed Khan
  • John Logan
  • Gary McDermott
  • Hanzla Naeem
  • Andrei Leonardo Perez Olivera
  • Klaudia Toczyska

Many congratulations to all the awardees and a huge thank you to all the judges who were involved, including Rachel Tribe (King’s College London), Robert Banks (University of Durham), Mark Dallas (University of Reading), Karen Doyle (National University of Ireland Galway), Hannah Kirton (University of Leeds), Susan Pyner (University of Durham), and Keith Siew (University of Cambridge).