Prize lectures 2019 - Call for nominations

The Physiological Society awards a number of prize lectures each year.

The prize lectureships have been instituted at various times in The Society’s history, and many owe their existence to the generosity of donors. Some awards are accompanied by an honorarium that is funded by The Society’s private funds and many, subject to the agreement of the Editorial Boards, are published in either The Journal of Physiology or Experimental Physiology. These prize lectures play an important role in The Society's commitment to advancing and promoting the physiological sciences.

The Society is committed to increasing equality and diversity in the physiological sciences. Our work in this area permeates through all of our activities and we would like to ask you to be mindful of this commitment when making your nominations. 

We are now calling for nominations for the following prize lectures to be given in 2019.

  • Annual Review Prize Lecture - This lecture is given at The Society's annual conference.
  • The Physiological Society Annual Public Lecture - This lecture is given at The Society's annual conference and is designed to further the promotion and public understanding of physiology to the general public and schools.
  • GL Brown Prize Lecture - This is a series of peripatetic lectures designed to stimulate an interest in physiology.  It is held in memory of Professor Sir Lindor Brown.
  • Hodgkin-Huxley-Katz Prize Lecture - This lecture is normally given by a distinguished physiologist working outside the UK or RoI. 
  • Joan Mott Prize Lecture - This lecture is usually given by a female physiologist covering any area of physiology but should be particularly relevant to young physiologists and also aim to enhance the profile and significance of women within the discipline.
  • International Prize Lecture - This is designed to be delivered in countries where there is a strong physiology community, but with whom The Society has previously had little or no interaction.
  • Sharpey-Schafer Lecture and Prize - This is a lecture given alternately by an established physiologist and a young physiologist chosen by The Society, and in 2019 will be an established physiologist.
  • R Jean Banister Prize Lecture -  This is a series of peripatetic lectures given by an early career scientist on any physiological topic, established in 2016 in memory of Professor (Rachel) Jean Banister (1917-2013). 

For more information, and details of previous recipients, please visit the dedicated prize lectures page

Submission will close on 30 November 2017.

This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.