Michael de Burgh Daly Prize Lecture

This biennial lecture is given in memory of the distinguished physiologist Michael de Burgh Daly — with input from the Cardiac & Vascular Physiology Theme Leads.

Nominate Now

Who can be nominated?

  • Physiologists at any career stage are eligible
  • You can nominate another person but not yourself

What is the award?

  • Opportunity to present to a large audience at The Society’s Annual Conference
  • Publication in Experimental Physiology, subject to Editorial Board agreement

How can I nominate?

Click on Nominate Now and select Michael de Burgh Daly Prize Lecture

Get inspired!

Michael de Burgh Daly (1922 –2002)

Michael de Burgh Daly (1922 –2002) was an English physiologist. Following lectureship positions at University College London, at just 36, he was appointed to the Chair of Physiology at Bart’s Medical School and Head of Department – a position he held until his retirement. He then moved to the Royal Free Hospital School of Medicine, to the Department of Physiology for the remainder of his life. He worked mainly on respiratory-cardiovascular Integration and conducted detailed studies on diving.

The Physiological Society established the Michael de Burgh Daly Prize Lecture in 2002.

A full list of all awardees is also available.

Site search


Content Type

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter