Who we are


Our Trustees are legally responsible for the overall governance, management and policy, ensuring that the charitable objectives for which it has been set up are met. The Trustees are also the Directors of The Society. Elections to the Council take place every year with each Trustee serving a period of four years and any Member is eligible to stand. Council members are elected to serve for a period of four years. See also Past Officers of The Physiological Society.


The Council has committees to which it delegates powers, and these groups report back to the Council. Membership of these committees is drawn from the Members but can also include externals. The main charitable committees are Conferences Committee, Education, Public Engagement and Policy Committee and Publications Committee. Governance committees include Finance, Remuneration and Nominations.



The Society is managed on a daily basis by a team of staff based at our Head Office in London. To get in touch with any of our teams, please see our contact information.

Chief Executive

Site search


Content Type

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter