Hodgkin-Huxley-Katz Prize Lecture

A prestigious biennial lecture awarded to distinguished physiologists working outside the United Kingdom or Republic of Ireland. The Lecture celebrates the international impact of the work of Alan Hodgkin, Andrew Huxley and Bernard Katz.

Nominate Now

Who can be nominated?

  • Physiologists outside the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland are eligible
  • You can nominate another person but not yourself

What is the award?

  • £1000 (£500 award, £500 honorarium)
  • Lecture presented at The Society’s Annual Conference
  • Publication in The Journal of Physiology, subject to Editorial Board agreement

How can I nominate?

Click on Nominate Now and select Hodgkin-Huxley-Katz Prize Lecture

Get inspired!

Sir Alan Lloyd Hodgkin (1914 –1998) and Sir Andrew Fielding Huxley (1917 –2012) were English physiologists who worked together at Cambridge studying nerve impulses. Though their work was interrupted at the outbreak of war in 1939, they continued their work on neuronal and electrophysiology after the war. Their analysis and mathematical description of the basis of the nerve impulse and its propagation earned them the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1963.

Sir Bernard Katz (1911 –2003) was a German born physiologist who fled to England in 1935 to escape Nazi persecution. He received the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 1970, (with Julius Axelrod and Ulf von Euler) for his discovery that neurotransmitter release at synapses is never less than a fixed minimum.

In 1999 The Physiological Society established the Hodgkin-Huxley-Katz Prize Lecture.

A full list of all awardees is also available.

Site search


Content Type

Sign up to our newsletter

Sign up to our newsletter